Congratulations to NextRadio and IBS’s College Radio Spot Contest Winners!

NextRadio and Intercollegiate Broadcasting System (IBS) are pleased to announce the winner of the College Radio Spot Contest. Caitlin McClure, a junior at University of Illinois won the contest with her creative radio spot. The radio spot will be featured in the second flight of the 2016 NextRadio National Awareness Campaign that will begin running on March 25, 2016.

The NextRadio National Awareness Campaign was launched in February 2015 to promote the activation of FM chips within all smartphones and NextRadio. This is an industry-wide marketing effort, supported by the NAB.

The college contest winning radio spot was inspired by Caitlin’s father who informed her that she had to pay for the family’s extra data charges because she was using streaming apps. The radio spot features NextRadio as the solution to saving consumers’ data while enjoying local FM radio on their smartphones. In addition to the radio spot being included in the second flight of the 2016 national campaign, Caitlin will also enjoy a trip to IBS’s national conference taking place March 3-4, 2016. NextRadio has provided Caitlin’s registration, flight, three night hotel stay and a $200 VISA gift card.

Noah Maciejewski from State University of New York Fredonia, Fredonia, NY won second place. Noah received a registration to the conference, three night hotel stay during the conference and a $100 VISA gift card. Cassidy Manetta from Michigan State University, Washington, MI came in third place. Cassidy received a registration to the conference, one night hotel stay during the conference and a $50 VISA gift card courtesy of NextRadio.

A special thank you to our five industry leader judges:
• Jeff Schmidt, SVP of Professional Development, Radio Advertising Bureau
• Dan Lemle, Communications Coordinator, National Association of Broadcasters
• Emmett Andrews, Production Director for WYXB 105.7, WIBC 93.1, WLHK 97.1 and WFNI 107.0, Emmis Communications
• Brian Rhodes, Voice Over
• Norman Prusslin, Director, WUSB, President and/or Chair of IBS 1982-2010

NextRadio National Awareness Campaign information and radio spots can be found at